Total Pageviews

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

FIGHTS: Meet the Pit Fighters - Chin Wu: Shaolin Kung Fu

YOUNG SHAOLIN KUNG-FU MASTER FACES CHALLENGES IN MMA CAGES
by
Bowie V. Ibarra



Making the journey to discover the world is a kung-fu master from China.  He faces physical and philosophical challenges in San Uvalde as he puts his skills to the test in the MMA rings.

Here he is:

NAME:  CHIN WU
NICKNAME:  N/A
BIRTHDAY:  OCTOBER 4, 1973
BIRTHPLACE:  ZHENGZHOU, HENANG PROVINCE, CHINA
BILLED FROM:  SAN UVALDE, TEXAS
NATIONALITY:  CHINESE
FIGHTING STYLE:  SHAOLIN KUNG-FU
TEACHER:  SHAOLIN TEMPLE, YIN BAIWEN
SIGNATURE MOVES:  BACKFLIP KICK
HEIGHT:  5'7"
WEIGHT:  150 lbs.

BACKGROUND

Chin Wu had been orphaned at the age of four in Shanghai.  He was sent to the Shaolin temples in Zhengzhou, China, near the Yellow River, shortly before his fifth birthday.  After waiting several days in front of the door of the temple, he was allowed in.

            Strict discipline, intense training, and spiritual meditation dictated Chin’s life.  For the next 10 years, Chin Wu became an expert in Shaolin Kung-Fu, mastering the Five Animal System, advanced Shaolin Kung-Fu techniques, Chinese Boxing, and Drunken Style.  He also mastered many weapons techniques, including the moy fah gim (Plum Blossom Saber) and the nau yip doe (tie-sheet blade).  However, his favorites were the sahm jit gwun (three section staff) and the goong seun gwun (Goong family staff).

            After staying with the Shaolin community longer than anticipated, Chin Wu was encouraged to leave the temple.  As one of the most articulate and intelligent students, they sent Chin Wu off with a wave and a smile, knowing that he would find his place in the world.

            Immigrating to the United States, Chin spent some time in San Francisco working in Chinatown.  For the next three years, Chin worked at a restaurant and picked up the English language. 

            American culture fascinated Chin, especially movies.  Although the friends Chin met in San Francisco treated him to the modern movies, nothing compared to the “spaghetti westerns” of the sixties.  Chin was enamored with the music, the stories, and the action.

            After several years in San Francisco, the wind blew Chin Wu to San Uvalde, Texas, where he heard word of a fellow Shaolin monk that had set up a temple in town out on a small patch of land near Fort Inge. Yin Baiwen has been his teacher ever since.
 
Here's his book trailer teaser:
 
 

Read more about Chin Wu in the 'Pit Fighters' series from ZBF.com.  'Pit Fighters: Baptism by Fire' and 'Pit Fighters: Double Cross' are combat sports-themed books that features fights from the early days of MMA, and plenty of underground money fights.  You've got to check them out, and they're available on Kindle or paperback today.
 
 
BOWIE V. IBARRA is the author of the 'Down the Road' zombie horror series from Permuted Press and Simon and Schuster.  His latest story, 'Tejano Star and the Vengeance of Chaplain Skull' is a Tex-Mexploitation superhero story in the tradition of 'Machete' and 'Black Dynamite'.  Get it in paperback or Kindle today.

Bowie earned a BFA in Acting and MA in Theatre History from Texas State University.  Network with Bowie for updates and news at his official website, ZombieBloodFights.com.

1 comment:

  1. +$3,624 PROFIT last week!

    Get 5 Star verified winning picks on MLB, NHL, NBA & NFL + Anti-Vegas Smart Money Signals!

    ReplyDelete